USA Today on The Patriot’s Bible

AT first I thought it was a press release, but further reading showed it wasn’t. Mixed bag review.

New ‘American Patriot’s Bible’ sees USA’s ‘godly roots’

Evangelical author and pastor Greg Boyd’s lengthy critique, posted on Christianity Today’s website, calls Lee’s Bible “idolatrous,” saying, “There’s not a single commentary in this Bible that even attempts to shed light on what the biblical text actually means.”

Today, both red- and blue-state Christians crave God’s endorsement, said Larry Eskridge of Wheaton College’s Institute for the Study of American Evangelicals.

“The problem for those who read The American Patriot’s Bible is that their contemporary Christian peers on the left cite the same source to justify their view that America has much to repent for in its economic, cultural, and military relationships to the rest of the world,” Eskridge said.

“Maybe, just maybe, the unadorned text of the Bible has something to say to both sides of the equation.”

13 thoughts on “USA Today on The Patriot’s Bible

  1. Hi Bitsy,

    I had never heard of this “Bible” but I’m very glad you bought it to our attention. After reading the review by Dr. Boyd I am saddened that Dr. Richard Lee has fallen to the level he has. He was once a great Bible teacher, right up there with Charles Stanley and John MacArthur. Clearly that is no longer true.

    Sadly, it never fails to amaze me how sloppy some preachers can be with the Word of God and, secondly, with American history. If someone wishes to teach history they should get a degree in history and get a job at a school. If one wishes to preach the Bible, one becomes a preacher. I believe it is sinful for preachers to use the pulpit to teach American history (mainly when they get it wrong). Christians need to start studying history by reading primary sources and well informed historians who have studied the sources in detail. We should stop listening to men/women who tell us what we want to hear and who twist history to fit a political agenda.

    Well that’s my opinion anyway…

    Martin.

  2. Hey Martin!

    Pretty astounding isn’t it!?! To what lengths will we go for a niche? Apparently, we’ll go pretty far.

    I had heard about it. It was on a list I could chose from for review books, AND several of the blogs I read had commented. Here are some that I remembered:

    Celucien Joseph

    Nick Norelli

    Polycarp

    Just a sampling. It was enough that I decided NOT to ask for a review copy!

  3. Polycarp,

    If it is ok with you, I want to link to your review from my blog.

    Martin.

Leave a comment