My first video from old VHSc cassettes

As part of my summer project to preserve old documents, photos and other memories, I decided to tackle the old cam-corder cassettes. I found several videos on YouTube describing various ways to approach the task. I decided to go with the Pinnacle Dazzle. I got the basic version and not the HDTV one. It was $30 less and not knowing for sure if it would work or not, it seemed better to go with simpler! I linked it below so you can take a look if you want. I got mine at Best Buy. They had this one and the HDTV one.

dazzle dvd recorder plus

We have a VHSc adapter that goes into the VCR. If you don’t have one, you can connect your camcorder directly to the device.

It’s easy enough to connect. First you load the programming. Then you take the 3-pronged connection out of the back of the TV and connect it to the Dazzle. The devise has a USB connection that plugs into the computer.

Next you open up the program called Pinnacle Studio. You’ll see this screen:

You’ve got three options. If you want to do what I’m doing – chose the first one and hit the play button on the VCR. The program groups the video into smaller segments. This is nice because if you took videos like we did, there’s lots of stuff on them you don’t car about 20 years later.

This is the first page of 20 minutes from Disney world in 1988. Some of those have family in them, some of them are just scenery, some have the boys talking in the background. From this, you can drag the little snippets you want onto the movie screen. If you’ve used flash before, it’s got a similar layout. (or it did, it’s been a LONG time since I made a flash.)

The one above is the video I was working on of the boys spring sing in 1988. You can see where I drug various snippets down and added transitions. You can snip out dead time easily enough.  I also added a title page. I know there are other things, but it’s too new for me to tell you about them 😉

You can choose your file type:

You can choose the preset. The first save, I chose small. What a disaster! I went with best quality now, but I am writing this entire (and lengthy) post while it’s still loading onto YouTube. BUT I am doing this to preserve memories, so . . .

Now, I hope to have a YouTube of the boys singing when they were knee-high-to-the-proverbial-grasshopper to show you how this worked out.

OK, it’s ready. Holding my breath and crossing my fingers!

Here’s the YouTube Link

Leave a Reply

