Skip to content

Adding a 2nd Monitor to the computer

July 4, 2010

I mentioned last week on FB that I was rearranging the office because I’d hooked a second monitor to my laptop. Actually, it’s a Vizio HDTV that I’m using. This laptop is older and I had to hook it up with a VGA cord. Kind of clunky but I love having the dual screens. I’ve had documents open on one while doing research on the other. At first moving the mouse from one screen to the other was a little awkward. Still is at times.

I can also hook my Dell Mini up to the Vizio with the HDMI cord, but I can’t get the dual screens on it. That must have to do with the Windows 7 Starter. bah humbug.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Nathan Stitt permalink
    July 4, 2010 12:42 pm

    Personally, I’d put them side by side. 8)

  2. July 4, 2010 12:51 pm

    I tried that, but I like having them both angled so I can see out the window too. Wanna absorb all the sunshine I can while it’s shining 😛

    I may go back to that before it’s all over.

  3. July 4, 2010 1:08 pm

    Yeah but it’s harder to see the screen with all that awful light. I have two 2 18″ CRTs on my old system in my office that I don’t use anymore except for a print server and it was great to have them when I was doing web work or whatever other combo.
    Jeff

  4. July 4, 2010 3:03 pm

    Hey Jeff! Good to see you feeling well enough to post!

    2 CRTs took up a lot of desk space didn’t they? I remember how much room one took up.

  5. July 4, 2010 7:05 pm

    I couldn’t work with just one monitor any more. Looks good.

  6. July 4, 2010 11:58 pm

    The short shelf they were on sure bowed down.
    Jeff

  7. Bible Monkey permalink
    July 5, 2010 10:49 am

    I’m still with one monitor. I plan on changing as little as possible in all areas. 😡

  8. July 5, 2010 9:28 pm

    Poor little monkey needs to get with the program.

Leave a Reply

