Exploring a listserv

I do remember years ago when listservs were the best thing out there for communicating, but when blogs and bulletin boards came out, listservs seemed more than a little cumbersome.

So here I sit with this library tech class with the assignment to lurk on a listserv. Just what did I discover?

  • Lots of good information being shared. I did read some good discussions and pick up some interesting info.
  • Even in digest form, an active listserv can clog up your email in no time.
  • You have to use search features at multiple levels to find what you need.
  • They are poorly organized and difficult to read with the truncation and extra characters that are inserted.

Maybe I’m missing something crucial, but I’m still not sure why you’d use this medium over another.

Leave a comment