NC cuisine

Jason posted a while back about Louisiana food. Now I will say that as a place to live, I much prefer NC, but for food, LA has us beat up one side and down the other. Ron and I used to go to New Orleans for the weekend and we’d plan the trip around where we would eat!Β  It’s a hard pill to swallow to not be able to compete.

Now NC is known for their bbq. Lexington style *cough*

Something much better IMHO is Moravian Chicken Pot Pie

AND of course when you get to the coast, there is some very good seafood.

All seems pale in comparison . . .

OK North Carolinians. Surely I’ve left something local out that is absolutely fabulous! Help me out and post it.

6 thoughts on “NC cuisine

  1. Could you tell me what is in that first pic? That’s bbq? I’ve never had Moravian chicken pot pie, but I like pot pie in general.

  2. Yes, that’s what they call bbq in NC. Thin sauce and they even put some in the finely chopped greenery they call cole slaw. I haven’t had any in a restaurant in years πŸ˜›

    I miss the bbq I was raised on . . . although I can fix some decent bbq at home.

  3. Bitsy: I see, it just didn’t look like the bbq I eat! πŸ˜‰ I prefer Memphis-style or good-ol Texas bbq! And no, there is no cuisine quite like Louisiana cooking! Just ask Joel how much he misses it!

  4. hahaha, no it doesn’t look like bbq at all (unless you were born and reared here πŸ˜‰ ).

    give me a thick red spicy sauce and some meat you can sink your teeth into. Please!

  5. Bitsy: Yes, now that sounds like some bbq I could enjoy! There’s a new bbq place near our house that we have been wanting to try. These posts always make me hungry! πŸ™‚

  6. My apologies to NC bbq enthusiasts (or SC for that matter), but that’s not barbecue. I miss Luther’s BBQ, with it’s seasoned to perfection, slow cooked BEEF brisket, with that wonderful tangy, spicy, thick tomato-based sauce, where cole slaw is a side dish and not a condiment. What’s a displaced Texan to do?

Leave a Reply

