Barak Obama to speak to nation’s school children

I’d like to know what you think about the event?

This is the blurb from the local news:

Local Educators, Parents Sound Off On Obama Speech

Rankin (mentioned in the article and video) is not far from the school I’m at.

We were only told to show it. Nothing was said (or handed out) about follow-up assignments. While, not a supporter of Obama’s policies, I wondered why this has not been an annual event. The president and even governors welcoming school children back to school as well as encouraging them in their studies.

Edited to add a link to Rutherford Lawson’s comments on the subject.

Edited again to add a link to Abraham Piper’s comments.

Yes, I’m editing it again to add: Group prays for ‘unpatriotic’ schools ’spitefully’ using children in Obama fracas. Spitefully? Seems a bit strong there doesn’t it?

Al Mohler has commented on the topic in a very wise way IMHO.

President Obama’s speech is now available.

8 thoughts on “Barak Obama to speak to nation’s school children

  1. Hi Bitsy,

    I don’t really see the issue here. Having heard the arguments against President Obama’s speech, I tend to think it is mostly politics. Nasty politics at that. I think the President of the United States should give such messages to our nation’s school children. He should encourage them to work hard and do the best they can.

    I saw someone protesting this speech on tv say that President Obama was not his president. Well sir, then you are not an American! President Obama is President of the United States. If you are an American, he is your president. I did not vote for Obama, nor will I vote for his re-election, but he is the president and he is my president.

    I’m ashamed to be a Republican right now. I’ve spent the last eight years listening to the one-sided, hypocritical attacks by Democrats/liberals. Now it looks like I will have to spend the next four/eight years listening to the one-sided, hypocritical attacks by professing Christians and Republicans/conservatives. I am ashamed. We should take the high road, not the low political road of the liberals.

    Martin.

  2. I was telling Ron this morning that way too many people spout off before thinking. AND then grace is severely lacking in the words. What has changed is that everyone feels the need to spout off (read: shout over any and all!).

  3. My only concern was what his message would be, and it troubled me that the White House Communications Office wasn’t going to release the content of the speech prior to it. The Obama administration went to work saying they would be the most transparent administration ever, but that hasn’t been the case, and this was one more thing cloaked in secrecy.

    If the content was just to encourage the students to study hard, apply themselves and do well, I don’t see where that would be a “bad thing” worthy of all the furor, nor do I see why the WHCO wouldn’t release the content when the speech was announced. But, without that disclosure, with this administration? It worries me.

    Ronald Reagan made a speech to all students in 1981. I don’t remember it; old age sinking in, I guess. (ha!) George H. W. Bush was going to give a speech to all students during his administration and Dick Gephardt (D-MO and Speaker of the House) flipped out saying that the Department of Education wasn’t there to print campaign/propaganda material for the Republicans.

    I have qualms about any president of any political stripe being broadcast by satellite to all school children… it just seems too “Dear Leader-ish” and too reminiscent of totalitarian regimes of the 20th Century.

  4. Bitsy, my kids will be watching it – regardless if the White House had released the speech of not.

    However, I have secured a video of what the speech will look like:

  5. “My only concern was what his message would be…”

    Bugworks, whence comes the concern? What did you expect him to say, “tune out, get high, drop out”? Why would you expect the leader of the FREE world to give your child a message that might be harmful?

    What has our country come to when we cannot trust the President of the United States with our children’s well being?

    Bitsy, I’m honored you chose to link to my article and I thank you profusely.

    Regards,
    Rutherford

  6. Unfortunately, our school district has decided not to show it as a live stream because, supposedly, they have not reviewed its content. I think they are being bullied by a few extremists.

  7. Rutherford: I read your blog regularly, and whether I agree or not, I learn from it.

    AllThings: The live stream is actually a bit difficult timing wise. It’s right at lunch time (or an overlap) for so many. Hopefully your district will watch it and play it later in the day or the next.

    My students will be able to start it and then we will have to go to lunch and then watch the rest at the end of the day. My district is going to play it continuously after the first broadcast.

Leave a Reply

